Freedom from Facebook?

(Mark's Myth) #1

I’m curious who feels this way about Facebook and their growing monopoly and what to do about it, if anything…

(ACD) #2

I am more concerned about surveillance generally than the fact that people have gravitated toward facebook. After all, the town square is where everyone meets. I would be happy if we could stop surveillance and big data collection which, as I say, does not appear to me to be a necessary consequence of facebook’s dominant position in social media.

(Bill Ames) #3

Facebook is just a website where I can keep track of my friends with which I share common interests and monitor the news of the TV shows I follow. I do not buy anything there, read any political or religious stuff. You know how difficult it is to deal with me on Ideapod, FB properly ignores me, as it should. Their user interface is horrible, I am a software pro for quality assurance and know junk when i see it. To effectively use FB is a pain. I am surprised that no competition has arrived. Oh, ads, I have programmed my mind to not register ads. Ads are like animal droppings on the sidewalk, you make sure you avoid them. I have about 140 friends and that is mostly old coworkers and family. The rest are people with a mind that is a match for me and we frequently enjoy laughing at the world and how stupid it is. Note that our perspective is that of the aliens in my screenplay as it is necessary we keep in character as we write the script. So if at times I appear as a know it all who is a billion years old with appropriate technology with an unlimited lifespan and has seen many races like humans. Fortunately many are led by the equivalent of human cats and are much better at providing a well rounded life experience.

(Justin Brown) #4